The new air filter test standard ISO 16890 will replace EN779: the filtration efficiency is determined by the classification of particulate matter

May 22, 2019 Industry News 365 views

ISO 16890 will be introduced into the International Organization for Standardization as a brand new filtration standard for testing and grading filters for general ventilation. The standard number is ISO16980. The standard was passed by 100% of all countries in the world. The EN 779 standard to evaluate air filters will soon become history. The International Organization for Standardization 16890 is coming soon. An 18-month transition period will begin at the end of 2016 and will replace the old standard in mid-2018. Hope that the filter manufacturers and customers in the same industry can understand these important regulatory changes and ensure sufficient time to adapt to the new standards.

In the United States ASHRAE52.2 is leading, Europe implements EN779, Asia and the Middle East, both standards are selected, and China has its own GB national standard. The new filter standard is of great significance to air filter manufacturers and users. 1. The top of the new standard aims to improve indoor air quality and protect personnel health. The entire testing process and classification system are closer to ambient air pollutants. 2. The global applicability of the new standard also eliminates the differences between current standards and eliminates Technical barriers to trade. In today’s globalized trade background, a large-scale construction project, the designer, engineering party and industry are likely to come from different countries. 3. For air filter manufacturers, make different manufacturers stand on the same standard platform to compete. 4 For users, comparing products under the same standard can make choices more intuitively, which is conducive to product innovation and user interests, and it is also conducive to eliminating the existence of some low-cost and inferior products in the market.

For many years, the World Health Organization and environmental authorities have been using particle size to assess air quality, and the industry now also follows this method. With the introduction of the new ISO 16890 test standard, the efficiency of the filter will be determined based on the classification of PM 1, PM 2.5 and PM 10. This ensures that the filter is evaluated more specifically and based on its actual performance. Compared with the previous two major standards, ISO6980 has absorbed advantages, discarded shortcomings, and proposed a very scientific test standard and grading system. The most significant advantage is that the filter efficiency test must be grouped for particulate matter. The efficiency of the filter will be determined by the particulate matter classification PM1, PM2.5, PM10. In the future, this will ensure that the filter is more evaluated by its actual operating performance, and at the same time, compared to the past, it will help users to select the appropriate filter more pertinently. For PM1 particles smaller than 1um, the new filtration efficiency and the need for efficiency after static elimination must exceed the minimum limit of 50% before it can be classified into the ePM1 efficiency group. This is important because more and more scientific reports show that PM1, as a fine particulate matter, is extremely harmful to human health.

ISO16890 Group definition
ISO ePM1 ePM1, min ≥ 50%
ISO ePM2.5 ePM2.5, min ≥ 50%
ISO ePM10 ePM10, min ≥ 50%
ISO coarse ePM10, min <50%

More content URL: Tel: 025-57138032